Arsenal FC – A Brief History

As of the 2023/2024 season, Arsenal Football Club continues to be a powerhouse in the English Premier League. Under the astute leadership of manager Mikel Arteta, the team boasts a roster of talented players who are poised to write the next chapter in the club’s storied history.


Arsenal Football Club: A Brief History

*Founded: 1886*

*Stadium: Emirates Stadium*

*Current Manager: Mikel Arteta

2023/2024 Arsenal Squad


1. Aaron Ramsdale

31. Karl Hein


2. William Saliba

3. Kieran Tierney

4. Ben White

5. Gabriel Magalhaes

12. Jurrien Timber

15. Jakub Kiwior

18. Takehiro Tomiyasu

35. Oleksandr Zinchenko



5. Thomas Partey

8. Martin Odegaard (C)

10. Emile Smith Rowe

20. Jorginho

21. Fabio Vieira

25. Mohamed Elneny

29. Kai Havertz

41. Declan Rice


7. Bukayo Saka

9. Gabriel Jesus

11. Gabriel Martinelli

14. Eddie Nketiah

19. Leandro Trossard

24. Reiss Nelson

26. Folarin Balogun

The Early Years and Founding (1886-1900)

Arsenal Football Club was founded in 1886 by a group of workers from the Royal Arsenal armaments factory in Woolwich, London. The club’s first matches were played on local pitches, and it quickly gained a following in the community.

The Highbury Era (1913-2006)

In 1913, Arsenal moved to Highbury Stadium, a move that marked the beginning of an era of success. Under the management of Herbert Chapman in the 1920s and 1930s, Arsenal secured its first league titles and established a reputation for stylish, attacking football.

The Wenger Revolution (1996-2018)

Arguably the most transformative period in the club’s history, Arsène Wenger’s appointment as manager in 1996 ushered in a new style of play and a focus on developing young talent. The team’s “Invincibles” season in 2003/2004, during which they went unbeaten in the league, remains a historic achievement.

The Emirates Era (2006-Present)

In 2006, Arsenal moved to the Emirates Stadium, signaling a new chapter for the club. While facing financial constraints during the stadium transition, Arsenal continued to compete at a high level under Wenger’s guidance. The club captured several FA Cup titles during this period.

A New Generation (2019-Present)

Under the management of Mikel Arteta, a former Arsenal player, the club has focused on rebuilding and nurturing young talent. The emphasis on tactical discipline and teamwork has shown promise, with the team steadily climbing the league table.



* League Titles: 13 (1930/31, 1932/33, 1933/34, 1934/35, 1937/38, 1947/48, 1952/53, 1970/71, 1988/89, 1990/91, 1997/98, 2001/02, 2003/04)

* FA Cup Titles: 14 (1929/30, 1935/36, 1949/50, 1970/71, 1978/79, 1992/93, 1997/98, 2001/02, 2002/03, 2004/05, 2013/14, 2014/15, 2016/17, 2019/20)

* League Cup Titles: 2 (1986/87, 1992/93)

* UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup Titles: 1 (1993/94)

* Community Shield Titles: 17 (1930, 1931, 1933, 1934, 1938, 1948, 1953, 1991, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2020, 2023)

Arsenal Football Club’s rich history is a testament to its enduring legacy and commitment to excellence on and off the pitch. As the 2023/2024 season unfolds, fans eagerly anticipate the next triumphs that will add to the club’s storied trophy cabinet.

Follow The Football Shed On Social Media

Leave a comment